Complete Story


Local Radio Freedom Act introduced

Pro-radio resolution boasts 119 original co-sponsors

The Local Radio Freedom Act, a non-binding resolution, was introduced in the House on February 6th and included 119 original co-sponsors.  The resolution calls for no new government-imposed taxes or fees on the nation's radio stations.

The resolution was brought to the House by Representative Steve Womack (R-AR-3) and Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and also co-sponsored in New Jersey by Democrats Andy Kim (NJ-3) and Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11) as well as Republicans Chris Smith (NJ-4) and freshman Tom Kean, Jr. (NJ-7). 

The previous Congress saw a total of eight NJ delegation members co-sponsor the Local Radio Freedom Act and the NJBA will continue to advocate on radio's behalf with the other members of the delegation.

Read more about the Local Radio Freedom Act.

Printer-Friendly Version